Twenty-three teams—all local government unit (LGU) based—are seeing action in the Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) Champions League that kicks off this Saturday, Nov. 5, and ends two Sundays later at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

“This year’s Champions League is all about the LGUs so we expect more exciting matches ahead,” said PNVF president Ramon “Tats” Suzara as he thanked Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Noli Eala for supporting the annual event that the PNVF started in 2021 in a bubble environment in Lipa City.

“It’s going to be a battle of pride for these LGUs. It’s going to be more competitive than last year,” Suzara said. “This year’s tournament is also be part of the selection for the national teams next year.”

The 23 teams—15 men and eighth women—were drawn to their respective pools in a virtual proceeding supervised by PNVF Don Caringal on Sunday.

The men’s Pool A is composed of the PGJC Navy Sea Lions, Basilan-Tennun Spikers, Cignal HD Spikers, VNS-Quezon City Griffins and AIP-University of Baguio-Benguet Province Cardinals.

Pool B is made up of the Aklan Ati-Atihans, Imus City- AJAA Spikers, National University (NU)-Pasay City Bulldogs, One Bulacan Republicans and Pikit-North Cotabato AMC G Spikers.

In Pool C are the University of the East (UE)-Cherrylume Red Warriors, Baguio City Highlanders, Bacolod City Tarags, Sta. Rosa City Lions and Army-Taguig City Troopers.

In women’s action, Pool A is composed of the University of Batangas-Batangas City Lady Brahmans, ICC-Caloocan City Lady Bluehawks, KMS-Quezon City Lady Vikings and Imus City-AJAA Lady Spikers.

Pool B in the women’s side is made up of last year’s first runner-up CPS-Antipolo City, Davao City Lady Agilas, UE Manila-Cherrylume Lady Red Warriors and Tomodachi Bulacan Bulakenyas.

Team Dasma (men) and F2 Logistics (women) won the last year’s Champions League inaugurals.

Source: Manila Bulletin (